Home | College And Universities | Educational Home
List of the 44 de-recognized deemed universities
The Centre told the Supreme Court on Monday that it has decided to withdraw the "deemed" status to 44 universities in the country, alleging these were being run as family fiefdoms rather than on academic considerations.

However, to avoid jeopardising the future of nearly two lakhs students enrolled in these universities spread over 13 states, they would be allowed to revert back as affiliated colleges of their original universities, the Centre said in an affidavit.

The affidavit filed by Ministry of Human Resource and Development said the government has accepted the recommendations made in this regard by the high-powered P N Tandon committee and the Special Task Force set up to suggest measures to tackle the problem.

"The Review Committee came across several aberrations in the functioning of some of the institutions deemed to be universities. It found undesirable management architecture where families rather than professional academics controlled the functioning of institutions," the affidavit said.

According to the Centre, most of the 44 erring deemed universities were offering post-graduate and undergraduate courses that are "fragmented with concocted nomenclatures" and seats "disporortionately" increased beyond the actual intake capacity.

The Centre's affidavit comes in the backdrop of the apex court's direction on a PIL on action against several so-called deemed universities operating on purely commercial lines and violating all academic standards and norms.

The high-powered committee and the task force had arrived at the findings after evaluating the functioning of 126 deemed universities in the countries. While 44 of them were found unfit to retain the deemed status, 44 others have been given directions to fill up the lacuna in their respective functioning to enable them retain the status. In the case of 38 others, the committee found them to be up to the mark.

"Many institutions which attained deemed university status from being a college increased their intake capacity disproportionately and in some cases, exponentially, in relation to the qualified faculty strength and other academic infrastructure.

"The committee found that in several institutions undergraduate and postgraduate programmes had been fragmented with concocted nomenclatures. Several institutions have prescribed fee structures considerably higher than those recommended by the official fee structure committees," the Centre stated.

According to the Centre, the task force has recommended that the 44 deemed universities which are to be de-recognised "should revert status quo ante as an affiliated college of the state university of jurisdiction so that students would be able to complete their ongoing courses and obtain degree from the affiliating university.

The decision applies to all such proposed de-recognised deemed varsities including medical and dental, the government said. A bench of Justices Dalveer Bhandari and A K Patnaik adjourned the hearing on the matter for a week to enable the petitioner Viplav Sharma to file his response. 

Following are the universities which are to be stripped of their deemed status:

  1. Christ College, Bangalore
  2. Vignan's Foundation for Science, Technology and Research, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh
  3. Lingaya's University, Faridabad
  4. St Peter's Institute of Higher Education and Research, Chennai
  5. Noorul Islam Centre for Higher Education, Kanyakumari
  6. Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, Noida
  7. Shobhit Institute of Engineering and Technology, Meerut
  8. Sumandeep Vidyapeet, Vadodara, Gujarat
  9. Sri Devraj Urs Academy of Higher Education and Reserch, Kolar, Karnataka
  10. Yenepoya University, Mangalore
  11. BLDE University, Bijapur, Karnataka
  12. Krishna Institute of Medical Sciences, Satara, Maharashtra
  13. D Y Patil Medical College, Kolhapur, Maharashtra
  14. Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research, Chennai
  15. Chettinad Academy of Research and Education, Kanchipuram
  16. HIHT University, Dehradun
  17. Santosh University, Ghaziabad
  18. Maharshi Markandeshwar University, Ambala, Haryana
  19. Manav Rachna International University, Faridabad
  20. Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher Education, Tumkur, Karnataka
  21. Jain University, Bangalore
  22. Tilak Maharashtra Vidyapeeth, Pune
  23. Siksha "O" Anusandha, Bhubaneswar
  24. Janardan Rai Nagar, Udaipur, Rajasthan
  25. Institute of Advanced Studies in Education of Gandhi Vidya Mandir, Sardarshahr, Rajasthan
  26. Mody Institute of Technology, Sikar, Rajasthan
  27. Dr MGR Educational and Research Institute, Chennai
  28. Saveetha Institute of Medical and Technical Sciences, Chennai
  29. Kalasalingam Academy of Research and Education, Virdhunagar, Tamil Nadu
  30. Periryar Maniammai Institute of Science and Technology, Thanjavur
  31. Academy of Maritime Education and Training, Chennai
  32. Vel's Institute of Science, Technology and Advanced Studies, Chennai
  33. Karpagam Academy of Higher Education, Coimbatore
  34. Vel Tech Rangaraja Dr Sagunthal R&D Institute of Science, Chennai
  35. Gurukul Kangri, Haridwar
  36. Grapich Era University, Dehradun
  37. Nehru Gram Bharati Vishwavidyalaya, Allahabad
  38. Sri Balaji Vidyapeeth, Puducherry
  39. Vinayaka Mission's Research Foundation, Salem, Tamil Nadu
  40. Bharath Institute of Higher Education And Research, Chennai
  41. Ponnaiya Ramajayam Institute of Science and Technology, Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu
  42. Nava Nalanda Mahavira, Nalanda, Bihar
  43. Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Sriperumbudur, Tamil Nadu
  44. National Museum, Institute of the History of Art Conservation and Musicology, Janpath, New Delhi
Published on NDTV Monday January 18
For any changes mail to :support@nakkeeran.com
nakkeeran.com @ 2001-2009 - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use